Self Love for the B.G.G (Black Girl Graduate)

The other day, two weeks after I graduated, my parents informed me about a job fair that was happening in my town.  I agreed to go mainly because I was continuously being harassed about finding a salary job now that I was out of school.

I was determined to keep an open mind and attend. So I twisted my hair up the night before and started planning my business professional outfit for the next day.

Let me just say, that twist out came out BOMB! And my little pencil skirt and multi print shirt were cute. But, as I started thinking about the companies and their representatives that would be present, the appearance of the other people that would attending, and how they may look at me, I began physically mirroring my doubt.

Maybe my twist out is fluffed out too much, do I look unhirable? I began smoothing it down.

Maybe this pencil skirt is revealing my shape too much. Will they think I am seeking attention? I started frantically searching through my closet.

I looked at myself once again in the mirror, and it hit me. What in the world was I doing?

As a fresh graduate (from an HBCU if I might add) that experience really showed me why it is important to CONSISTENTLY  love yourself. Not only when it comes to wearing that new outfit or when bashing yourself about your weight, but also when walking into an interview, attending a job fair, or any other advances that require you to put on your professional hat as you make progress in your career.

As Black women, we have been put into an environment where we have to meet different standards of beauty, professionalism, and success, all while attaining our blackness without losing yourself. My question to you is, what is wrong with the fact you are a bit more shapely than others or that today you want to rock your afro to work? Absolutely nothing!

As Black women who have graduated from highly esteemed institutions, I understand the fear we may have. No longer are we protected by our alma maters, our professors, and friends when we decide to show our blackness and all the wonderful things that come with it in the American workplace. This is a cruel world baby girl, and I get that the want to get a job, to make that money, and grow your success is your top priority. But it should be YOUR top priority. Being successful should be the priority of a you that is 100% you, and not anyone else. I don’t mean to be cliche, but confidence is key! But in order to have confidence in yourself, you must be aware of the fire that you have within you. When you love someone, like really loooovvee someone, you trust them, right? Gurl, love yourself and trust that fire that has given you the strength the graduate (praise break), and know it will give you that strength to make that bread and be successful one day! 

Now I’m not saying, go to a job interview for the New York Times with neon colored hair and a mini skirt that would show everything if you sneezed. Even though you love that bright hair, and feel comfortable with your booty hanging out, there is a time and place for everything (and in a potential boss’s office is not the place). What I am saying is that next time you happen to get a job interview and you have already calculated the necessary steps to achieve that BOMB twist out, pack your pick and make sure your black girl magic is showing before you walk into that establishment. Head high ladies, we have a sky to conquer!


2 thoughts on “Self Love for the B.G.G (Black Girl Graduate)

    1. Well you know I say start applying. And personally I think your haircut really fits you! And you arent going to run into any problems

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment